Ben the Baker

Just a guy trying to get his kids to eat

  • Blog Stats

    • 15,631 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Proud Member of the Daring Bakers

  • Bread Baking Day

    BreadBakingDay #28 - last day of submission April 1, 2010
  • Sources of Inspiration


    Professional Baking
    Wayne Gisslen


    Chocolates and Confectionery
    Peter P. Greweling


    Tartine
    Elisabeth Prueitt


    Dessert Fourplay
    Johnny Iuzzini


    Indulge
    Claire Clark


    Frozen Desserts
    Francisco J. Migoya


    The Sweet Spot
    Pichet Ong


    Chocolate Epiphany
    Francois Payard


    The Sweet Life
    Kate Zuckerman


    Demolition Desserts
    Elizabeth Falkner


    Pure Desserts
    Alice Medrich

Orange Custard Tarts

Posted by osakaben41 on November 1, 2009

Orange Custard Tart

Sometimes a picture is just too good to be ignored.  A quick glance was all it took, but I just couldn’t get these tarts out of my head.  I’m going to have to keep myself from visiting Flagrante Delicia too often or I’m just going to keep recreating everything she does, just not as well.

And I tried, I really tried to put my own spin on this one.  She did an Orange custard, I’d make it with Pomelo.  Couldn’t find any though, so what about Yuzu.  Couldn’t find any of that either.  I thought about just doing this with pink grapefruit, but my father in law was coming to town and he’s not a grapefruit fan.  Back to Orange it was then.IMG_1566

In concept, it’s a sweet tart crust with a citrus custard.  Sprinkle some sugar on top and torch it with your handy dandy kitchen torch.  She tops hers with “orange salt” which I had every intention of doing, but the recipe calls for 4 oranges, but the rind is used in both the custard and for the ‘salt’.  I do all my baking these days when the kids are sleeping, which takes away the option of running out to the store for 4 more oranges, so we had to do without this time.  (No reason why this component couldn’t come into play sometime again though).

My torch has been temperamental lately though, having to be refilled after every 15 seconds, so I wasn’t able to get too much color on the tops.  Just for poops and giggles then, I paired these with a Florentine cookie from Francois Payards Chocolate Epiphany, though with Almonds instead of walnuts, and dried cranberries instead of candied orange zest.

In what turned out to be a step too far, I whipped up a Pomegranate sorbet as another element on the plate.  I don’t even know anymore, perhaps I was just enraptured with the thought of three pieces on the plate, but I should have remembered not to mix custard with ice cream again.  There were too runny flavors, and my cookie was too stiff to soak any of it up.

Lastly, these were for a small dinner party in the neighborhood, so I just threw everything under the stroller and pushed the kids down the street.  It’s Halloween though, so we had to trick-or-treat all the way there.  Sorbet was closer to mushy applesauce in texture by the time we arrived.  The dangers of baking with kids I guess.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

