Ben the Baker

Just a guy trying to get his kids to eat

  • Blog Stats

    • 19,782 hits
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • Proud Member of the Daring Bakers

  • Bread Baking Day

    BreadBakingDay #28 - last day of submission April 1, 2010
  • Sources of Inspiration


    Professional Baking
    Wayne Gisslen


    Chocolates and Confectionery
    Peter P. Greweling


    Tartine
    Elisabeth Prueitt


    Dessert Fourplay
    Johnny Iuzzini


    Indulge
    Claire Clark


    Frozen Desserts
    Francisco J. Migoya


    The Sweet Spot
    Pichet Ong


    Chocolate Epiphany
    Francois Payard


    The Sweet Life
    Kate Zuckerman


    Demolition Desserts
    Elizabeth Falkner


    Pure Desserts
    Alice Medrich

Red Currants

Posted by osakaben41 on August 3, 2009

Currants

One of the first things that became apparent when I started frequenting food blogs was the prevalence of red currents.  It could have been that so many great bloggers were writing from the UK, Singapore, or Paris, where I suppose these are more readily available.  So imagine my surprise when I stumble on what I assumed were fresh red currants near my office the other day.  Without any plan, I just had to buy some.

Currants 2

So what do people do with these then?  I looked all over and came across a bunch of fantastic pictures of them used in plated desserts, mixed with strawberries for pink bavarian/mousses, or reduced into a jam.  In short, a supporting role, rarely a main star.  It seemed a shame to take something so inherently beautiful and hide it behind a strawberry, but after eating a few, I realized they were very very tart, and had seeds like a pomegranate.  Serving them raw was not an option.  My son may be allergic to Strawberries, so that was a dead end also.  Lastly, I could use a break from making mousses.

The matter actually resolved itself as we stumbled into having friends over for dinner tonight, and I still had a good deal of tart crust left over from the Lemon Cream Tart experiment.  So we picked up some fruit from the local farmer’s market, whipped up a berry tart, and reduced the currants with a little (ok, actually a lot) of sugar, some lemon juice and water into a quick sauce.  The tart was actually pretty pedestrian, and I didn’t use nearly enough sauce to let it come through, but what I was able to taste, when I tasted it, was quite unique.

Sauce

So call it a quickie experiment, but at least I know what they taste like now.  If anybody out there has some great ideas on how to use these, drop a line.  Any and all suggestions will be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

 
